On a computer that runs Windows Vista or Windows Server 2008, you have a network share that is hosted on a computer that runs Windows Vista or Windows Server 2008. In this scenario, after you rename, delete, or move the files in the network share, you may see that the original file names are still listed in the network share, although the operation that you performed on the files is successful.
For example, consider the following scenario:
- You have the following network share:
- You use the following command to move a file:
Move \\Server\Share\Dir1\file.txt \\Server\Share\Dir2\file.txt
- You use the following command, and you see that the operation is executed successfully:
- You use the following command to check the original directory:
In this scenario, you may find that the original file.txt file name is still listed in the network share.
- This problem occurs if the network share is connected by using the Server Message Block (SMB) v2 protocol. The default network share protocol between Windows Vista or Windows Server 2008 is SMB v2.
- This problem also occurs if you try to rename, delete, or move the files by using an application that calls the MoveFileEx function.
- This problem no longer occurs after about 10 seconds. This means that after about 10 seconds, the file disappears from the original directory.