The authentication information is deleted unexpectedly in Windows Vista or in Windows Server 2008 after you access some resources on the web server
Consider the following scenario:
- You have a client computer that is running Windows Vista or Windows Server 2008.
- You configure a web server to use cookie-based authentication for client users in the network environment.
- The web server creates cookies that contain the authentication information when the client user logs on the web server for the first time.
In this scenario, the authentication information is deleted unexpectedly after you access some resources on the web server. Therefore, a logon prompt is displayed if you access the resources on the web server again.
For more information on this issue, including potential causes, workarounds, and resolutions, see: Microsoft KB Article KB2523201.