DNS Host record of a computer is deleted after you change its DNS server
Consider the following scenario:
- You configure two DNS servers in a domain.
- You create Active Directory-integrated DNS zones, and then you enable dynamic update on both DNS servers.
- You join a computer that is running one of the following operating systems into the domain.
- Windows Vista
- Windows Server 2008
- Windows 7
- Windows Server 2008 R2
- You configure the computer to use one DNS server in the domain.
- You change the DNS server of the computer to the other one in the domain.
- You perform one of the following operations on the client computer:
- Restart the computer.
- Restart the DNS client service.
- Run the ipconfig /registerdns command.
In this scenario, the DNS Host record of the computer may be deleted from the DNS server. Therefore, name resolution issues occur.
For example, you change the DNS server of an Exchange server, and then the Host record of the Exchange server is deleted. In this scenario, users cannot connect to the Exchange server.
For more information on this issue, including potential causes, workarounds, and resolutions, see: Microsoft KB Article KB2520155.